Marker Layering

Today’s project highlights another technique.

As mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I was lucky enough to get the entire set of Stampin Up! Markers for my upcoming birthday. These fabulous markers now give me the chance to learn something new, marker layering. This week’s Splitcoast Weekly Inkling Newsletter covered this gorgeous technique with a tutorial presented by Karen Barber so I thought I’d give it a go whilst making a get well card for a fellow demonstrator. This technique is a first for me so I still need a lot more practise but I really enjoyed it and will be using it more often.  In fact, I think I could seriously get addicted to this technique.  There’s only one problem.  When I was seacrhing through my stamp sets for just the right stamp to use on this project, I realised that I don’t have many outline stamps so I have used a retired hostess set, Fast and Fabulous. You could get similar results from the latest hostess set, Simply Soft. Looks like I will need to do some more shopping!

I used the following splitcoast sketch as inspiration.

Stampin’ Up! Supplies
Stamp Sets: Fast and Fabulous (retired), Teeny Tiny Sentiments
Card: Whisper White, Lucky Limeade, Rose Red, Hostess Designer Series Paper, Cheerful Treat, Water colour paper
Ink: StazOn Jet Black
Markers: Pretty in Pink, Melon Mambo, Rose Red, Certainly Celery, Lucky Limeade
Tools: Paper Cutter, Scallop Edge Border, Blender Pen
Sticky Bits: Snail

Happy Stamping!

Posted on February 12, 2012, in Gifts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Beautiful card – the flowers look so soft and pretty! Thanks for the link to the marker layering tutorial.

  2. Tania, you have made a beautiful image with this technique.

Leave a Reply

