Simply Scored Gift Boxes

Sorry everyone!  I promised to post a quick and easy way to use the Simply Scored to make gift boxes with lids that actually fit and well…I’ve just been flat-out crafting!  Anyway… this a quick post before I pack the car for our 10 hour drive to Armidale (my home town).  I can’t wait to see my family and friends – it has been far too long!

I had been frustrated for so long making boxes with lids that were always just that bit too big.  So when a friend of mine sent me a link to a video tutorial on how to make boxes with lids that fit perfectly, I was so excited  (I know it doesn’t take much, does it?).  The exciting thing about this technique is you don’t have to work out the measurements for the lid – just the box base and they always fit perfectly.  How do I know?  Well, here’s how…

These are some of the boxes I made last week and they took no time to whip up and, as you can see, all of the lids fit perfectly.  All I have to do now is decorate them with ribbons and tags etc to make them simply fabulous.

So…you want to know how, right?  Check out the video tutorial from Connie Stewart.  She also has a video tutorial on how to measure and cut your box and a tutorial on how to make two tones boxes like the ones pictured above.  Check out Connie’s entertaining tutorials, you won’t be disappointed.

Want a Simply Scored?  Email me at tania_willis@bigpond.com.  Until the end of April, I’ll throw in a free shim so you can make the best fitting lids ever.

Happy crafting!

Posted on April 14, 2012, in 3D, Gifts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. These are great boxes! Thank you for the tutorial

  2. Hello, I am glad to be here. Do you have tutorials on youtube? I need to know how to make big square boxes with fitted lid and rectangle boxes too. Thanks

  3. What is DSP and is the box shim for sale?

  4. Hi I am from South Africa what is the scored board called so i can try finding it in my country.

  5. I was trying to find the post you have about making boxes on pinterest and the link does not work, can you send me the instructions?

  6. I love all your boxes. Fab! What I was wondering was, did you just use the DSP as it is or did you put it on card stock to make it more sturdy!! TFS!!!

Leave a Reply

