More From Simply Scored

Have you ordered your Simply Scored yet?  I’m super excited because I will be demonstrating this fantastic tool at Convention this year.  What that means is I need to practice, practice, practice.  What a shame that means the re-organising of the spare room and the kitchen cupboards will just have to wait because I’m “working”, he he… at least that’s what I tell my hubby! 

These little cuties are note-book covers which you can whip up easily and quickly using the latest addition to the Stampin’ Up! tools team, Simply Scored.

So, do you want to know how?

  • First measure the notebook you want to use.  My notebooks are 12.5cm x 7.5cm x 4mm. 
  • Now you need to work out the size of card you need.  To do this, simply double the length of the notebook, add twice the depth of the notebook, add whatever amount you like for the flap. I added 4mm to each side.   To make it easier, I simply used the entire length of an A4 piece which leaves a flap of approx 3cm.  My final card measurement is 8.2cm x 29.7cm.
  • Now…becasue I’m also a quilter, I’m one of those really annoying people who switch between metric and imperial measurements when I feel the need.  So I’m going to revert to inches for scoring simply because these measurements are perfect for this size notebook.  So I set my markers at 5″, 5 1/4″, 10 1/4″ and 10 1/2″ and scored away. 
  • I then grabbed by trusty bone folder and folded at the score lines. 
  • Lastly, I decorated them all using Designer Series Paper, card, stamps, ribbon, markers. 
  • Now I do have one secret.  I used magnet tape on the inside of the flap and on the front so it stayed closed.  The magnets are covered with DSP and work a treat.

I hope you like this project. Not bad for practice, if I do say so so myself.  Now this project isn’t one I’m using for convention,  but I will share all of my very special projects with you after June 3.  I don’t want to ruin the surprise for my fellow demonstrators!

Would you like to book a Simply Scored hands on Workshop?  Contact me today so that you and your friends can learn more about this fantastic tool and make one of these notebook holders for free.  I have to say, it is the best tool I have purchased for some time and has made my papercraft life so much easier.

Happy crafting!

Posted on April 27, 2012, in 3D, Gifts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

