Mojo Monday Mother’s Day Card

During my recent trip home, my wonderful Mother-in-law pulled out a card that I made about seven years ago for Mother’s Day.  She is a wonderful quilter so I wanted to have a go at card making and make a card that suited her love of her craft.  I was more into scrapbooking back then and my stash consisted mainly of cheap card, paper and embellishments.  I had a few stamps and ink pads but these were also cheap and the results were always terrible.  At the time, I thought it was me and simply decided that stamping wasn’t for me so I stuck with using paper.  That didn’t last very long because…well…I think I simply got bored.   My pages and the odd card weren’t that great so I simply stopped and moved on.

Six years later I was invited to a Stampin’ Up! workshop and that was pretty much it for me.  Love at first sight.  When I stamped using the wonderful stamp sets and the gorgeous coloured ink pads, I realised that years ago, it wasn’t me at all.  The simple fact of the matter was I was using poor quality products.

My latest creation is inspired by that first card I made.  When I made it, I used a craft knife to cut everything and it took me forever.  This time I used my trusty paper-cutter and punches – too easy!   The original card was square (12cmx12cm) with a large heart and large paper flower in the centre of the card.  I changed it up especially for the latest Mojo Monday Challenge so it did take me some time to do the resizing but well worth the effort.  Thanks Mum for keeping the original card for me – I completely forgot about this design and I love it!

Supplies
Card:  Island Indigo, Whisper White
Paper:  Twitterpated Designer Series Paper (Autumn-Winter Mini)
Stamp Set:  Tiny Tags
Ink:  Island Indigo, Baja Breeze
Tools:  Paper Cutter, 1” Square Punch, Jewelry Tag Punch, Boho Blossoms Punch
Fabulous Flourishes:  White Bakers Twine, Clear Rhinestone Brad, Island Indigo Ruffled Ribbon

Why not book a workshop so you can experience the quality of Stampin’ Up! for yourself? Check out my workshop page for booking information and deets about workshop rewards or email me at tania_willis@bigpond.com.

Happy crafting.

 

Posted on April 29, 2012, in Cards, Mother's Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lovely card. I love the paper pieced heart. It is almost quilt like!

  2. Wow – this card is fantatic!! I love that heart!!!

  3. this is awesome, I luv the heart, so glad you played along with us at Mojo Monday!

    enjoy *~*

Leave a Reply

