Memory Book

When Stampin’ Up! asked me to run the Simply Scored Product Playground table at my first convention this year I was absolutely floored.  As part of the playground, I was asked to make some projects using the simply scored to show off the versatility of this fantastic tool.  I made a few items, some I have already shared with you, the wedding favour holder, scrapbook page and the little house.  I still have a couple more to go but this one is by far my favourite of all.

When I started planning this project, I wanted to make a paper dolls house?  Don’t ask me why!  There are only boys in my house so maybe I needed some girly stuff at the time. So…for inspiration…I surfed the internet for ideas as you do, of course!  I googled ‘paper dolls house’ and I found a cute vintage 360 degree pop up dolls house book. The concept was exactly what I was looking for but then I stumbled upon this more modern concept and decided this was definitely it!  There is a tutorial to make this but it is quite large.  I resized mine so that 1 piece of 12×12 card could be used as a cover. It’s about half the size and it took me several prototypes to get it right but it was well worth the trouble.

Supplies
Card:
Whisper White, Basic Grey, Baja Breeze, Riding Hood Red, Pear Pizzazz
Paper:
Twitterpated, Vellum
Ink: White StazOn, Basic Grey, Baja Breeze, Riding Hood Red, Pear Pizzazz
Tools: Paper Cutter, Simply Scored

I’ve also used buttons and brads and a number of stamp sets, punches, markers, embossing folders etc etc but you can use anything you like to decorate each page to make this your own.

As you can see, in the end I got over the dolls house idea as I decided I wanted something more useful.  It took me ages to work out what I was going to do.  I knew I had to use the concept but I didn’t know how I was going to decorate it.  As was searching through my photos for my house project, I discovered all of my son’s school portraits.  Jake is almost 17 now so I get a little nostalgic looking through his photos and I’ve been wanting to do something special with his school pics for ages. And it hit me, use the concept and turn it into a memory book.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take photos of each section or a photo of it open and tied but I will when it is returned. The Stampin Up! Office have it at the moment to share at Regionals around Australia over the next few months.

I had several demonstrators ask me for the instructions for this project and I am in the process of putting together a tutorial that will be added to my tutorial and templates page so keep an eye out or subscribe and receive updates direct to your inbox.

I hope you enjoyed this project and if you have any questions, please feel free to email me at tania_willis@bigpond.com

Happy Crafting

Posted on June 19, 2012, in 3D, Gifts, Memory Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

